Skip to content »

NAAL Awards

The North American Academy of Liturgy gives two awards, the Berakah and the Diekmann.

Recipients of the Berakah are normally members of the academy. Nominations come from the membership at large, and the Academy Committee makes the selection. The Berakah Award is given to liturgists or persons of an allied vocation in recognition of distinguished contribution to the professional work of liturgy and has been given each year since 1976.

The Godfrey Diekmann Award began in 2003. It is named in honor of the liturgical giant Benedictine Father Godfrey Diekmann, OSB, of Saint John's Abbey in Collegeville, Minnesota. Fr. Diekmann was a NAAL founding member who died in 2002.  The Diekmann is awarded occasionally to a non-Academy member who has made a significant contribution to the liturgical life of the world.



YearBerakah AwardeeSite

Fr. Gerard Austin, OP

Washington, D.C.

Dr. Marjorie Procter-Smith

Houston, Texas

Dr. Ruth Langer

Minneapolis, Minnesota

Fr. Gil Ostdiek, O.F.M.

Orlando, Florida

Fr. Edward Foley, Capuchin

Albuquerque, New Mexico

Rev. Dr. Louis Weil

Montreal, Canada

Dr. Richard S. Vosko

San Francisco, California
2010 Dr. Gail Ramshaw Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2009 Dr. Janet Walton Baltimore, Maryland
2008 Dr. Paul Bradshaw Savannah, Georgia
2007 Fr. John Baldovin, SJ Toronto, Canada
2006 Dr. Gordon Lathrop San Diego, California
2005 Fr. Kevin Seasoltz, OSB Louisville, Kentucky
2004 Rabbi Lawrence Hoffman New York, New York
2003 Dr. Hoyt Hickman Indianapolis, Indiana
2002 Fr. Clarence Rivers Reston, Virginia
2001 Mr. Robert Rambush St. Louis, Missouri
2000 Fr. John Gallen SJ Tampa, Florida
1999 Dr. Geoffrey Wainwright Vancouver, Canada
1998 Dr. Nathan Mitchell San Antonio, Texas
1997 Mr. Frank Henderson Chicago, Illinois
1996 Dr. Hans Boehringer Cincinnati, Ohio
1995 Dr. Harold Daniels Boston, Massachusetts
1994 Fr. Edward Kilmartin SJ Charleston, South Carolina
1993 Sr. Mary Colllins OSB Albuquerque, New Mexico
1992 Dr. Donald Saliers Washington, D.C.
1991 Fr. David Power OMI Minneapolis, Minnesota
1990 Sr. Theophane Hytrek OSF St. Louis, Missouri
1989 Dr. Balthasar Fischer Nashville, Tennessee
1988 Fr. Michael Marx OSB AND
Fr. Aelred Tegels OSB
San Francisco, California
1987 Dr. Thomas Talley Tarrytown, New York
1986 Fr. Gerard Sloyan Durham, North Carolina
1985 Fr. Robert Taft SJ Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1984 Dr. Eugene Brand Chicago, Illinois
1983 Dr. James White Queens, New York
1982 Fr. Robert Hovda Atlanta, Georgia
1981 Mr. Frank Kazmarcik Los Angeles, California
1980 Fr. Fred McManus Washington, D.C.
1979 Dr. Horton Davies Princeton, New Jersey
1978 Dr. Massey Shepherd San Francisco, California
1977 Fr. Godfrey Diekmann OSB San Antonio, Texas
1976 Fr. Aidan Kavanagh, OSB New Orleans, Louisiana
1975   Notre Dame, Indiana
1973   Scottsdale, Arizona


Godfrey Diekmann Award

YearDiekmann AwardeeSite
 2015 Fr. Virgilio Elizondo Minneapolis, Minnesota
 2009 Louis-Marie Chauvet  Baltimore, Maryland
 2006 Dr. Catherine Bell San Diego, California
 2003 Edward Sovik  Indianapolis, Indiana